The Terminal and stuff.
12:11 a.m. on 12-26-04


HOLY CRAP!

So, I think I just decided what I want to do with my life.

This could be a really long, potentially boring story, or a short and sweet sentence.

So Ima do both.

So I am pretty sure that I want to be a United Nations Ambassador.

That was the short and sweet sentence.

You can read how I came to this decision or you can go about your internet surfing. Whatev.

So after my crazy entourage of a family left, my mom and dad and I sat down to watch The Terminal.

I am not sure about criticism for this movie in general, but "feel good" movies like this often receive a lot of critical slack because they're not "real."

Real life is real, okay guys? We go to the movies to escape reality.

Granted I enjoy a good, hard cinematic kick in the balls like Requiem for a Dream every once in awhile. But to say that that is the only kind of movie that has artistic credibility is just being cynical for the sake of cynicism.

I am really curious what makes these people who don't like "feel good" movies feel really, actually good. Probably movies like Harold and Maude, because they also have elements of REAL GRITTY REAL LIFE WITH PAIN AND DEATH AND ANGUISH but you know, there's like, a little eccentric happiness in there too, and it's "artsy" and "hip" to like shit like that.

Actually I loved that movie.

And I am definitely preoccupied with being artsy and hip.

So see, I KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE. But I can also like the foundation of joy in a movie like The Terminal, because joy is as joy does. You cannot argue with glee. I am sorry. But everyone has felt it. I am sure Hitler once had a good belly laugh.

Anyone who does not like Tom Hanks can put their face up to my butt, as I juicily fart on their face.

Anyway.

So after the movie I was talking to my parents about this, and about how I think that it's stupid that in order to consider something art or artistic (especially movies) it has to meticulously imitate real life.

Nobody undermines Picasso's work because the REAL WORLD does not involve people's brightly colored faces melting all over the place. And if anyone does, then they can put their face up to my butt, as I juicily fart on their face.

Art is wonderful because it's a version of life as the artist sees it. I am talking all media of art -- painting, photography, writing, acting, sculpting, dancing, music, movies... I mean even photography, which is an exact replica of real life, is never really interesting unless it has something unique about it. A standard picture of a tree isn't particularly captivating.

Art is improving on Life.

And yes I am aware of realism. I respect that too. But I am just saying that something involving the artist's bias or opinion is not any less valid because it is not exactly true to life.

Anyway.

So I was talking with my parents about this.

Um.

I kind of just got really sidetracked and I don't feel like writing this anymore.

So yadda yadda yadda, I want to be an ambassador because A. you get to travel, B. you get to possibly change the negative opinion of the United States, C. peace is pretty sweet, D. you get paid a lot of money so I can afford things that I want like cool clothes and awesome toys, and E. I don't like actors.

Blahblahblah there blah are many many other blahblah reasons too. But after that tangeant about realism I am all writededed out.




<< >>










SELECT:


newer!!1
older!!1
e - mail!!1
profile!!1
layout!!1
r0x0r!!1
guestbook!!1
notes!!1

fotogravvs!!1
185 Things!!1
omgz lolz!!1
me, naked!!1