-
12:11 a.m. on 12-12-04


Hey, I am making an Obscure Dance Mix and I am taking it very seriously because dancing is no laughing matter.

It is hugely massive.

There will probably be two volumes.

I need help narrowing it down and possibly replacing some songs with better songs.

What I have here is in alphabetical order -- please keep in mind that it would be a chilly day in Hell the day I keep a mix in alphabetical order. This is but a rough draft.

I know this is controversial, but I am going to keep the "slow it down" portion in the middle, when a water or sex break is necessary.

And yes I am making this for an actual dance party.

Or at least a party where dancing will be.

So far it goes like this:

"The Step" OR "Shitsheissemerde (pt. 1)" - !!!
"Sleep the Clock Around" OR "Judy is a Dick Slap" OR "Jonathan David" - Belle & Sebastian
"The Equaliser" OR "Harmony" - Clinic
"Why Can't I Be You?" - the Cure
"Hey Let's Go For A Ride!" - Dan Deacon
"Glass House" - El Guapo
"Ca Viewing" - Erase Errata (this gets obscure points... but DANCING FUN points?! I don't know about that. I JUST DON'T KNOW.)
"Mass Destruction" - Faithless (too political? Maybe.)
"Matinee" - Franz Ferdinand
"This Fire" OR "Darts of Pleasure" - Franz Ferdinand
"Damaged Goods" - Gang of Four
"At Home He's a Tourist" OR "Not Great Men" - Gang of Four
"Bandages" - Hot Hot Heat
"Touch You, Touch You" OR "Talk to Me, Dance with Me" - Hot Hot Heat
"Canned Heat" - Jamiroquai (before you knock it, it was featured in Napoleon Dynamite's big dance scene)
"Love Will Tear Us Apart" - Joy Division
"Go Junior, Go Senior" - Junior Senior
"Somebody Told Me" - the Killers
"Death on the Stairs" - the Libertines
"Deceptacon" - Le Tigre
"How Ya Doin Emily?" - Logan Whitehurst & the Jr. Science Club
"Thanks for the Killer Game of Crisco Twister" - Minus the Bear
"Paper Thin Walls" OR "Tiny Cities Made of Ashes" - Modest Mouse
"Bombs Over Baghdad" - Outkast (negative obscurity points, but think of the DANCING FUN... )
"Fuck the Pain Away" - Peaches
"Too Young" - Phoenix
"Song Against Sex" OR "Holland, 1945" - Neutral Milk Hotel

Time to slow it down!
With either:
"Hey!" - the Pixies (too slow? MAYBE. But what kind of mix would not feature the Pixies in some form? That's right. A bad one.)
OR
"It's a Fire" - Portishead (but they always remind me of really depressingbutgood sex? I haven't decided if that's a good thing or not. I just don't know if this in the best interest for the mix.)
OR
"The District Sleeps Alone Tonight" - the Postal Service (despite their evident plinkyness, I question their danceability. There is a remix version of this song, but I feel it is lacking something.)
OR
"Everything Hits at Once" - Spoon
OR
"Sexy Boy" - Air

KICK IT BACK UP A NOTCH!

"Wonderful People" - Q and not U
"Nine Things Everyone Knows" OR "Book of Flags" - Q and not U
"House of Jealous Lovers" OR "Echoes" - the Rapture (I know the obvious choice is "H.O.J.L.," but keep in mind that "Echoes" features a twenty second COWBELL BREAKDOWN)
"Boot to the Moon" - Reggie and the Full Effect (this is an afterthought.)
"Comfortably Numb" - Scissor Sisters
"So Says I" - the Shins
"Little Babies" OR "Step Aside" - Sleater Kinney
"This Charming Man" - the Smiths
"William, it was really nothing" - the Smiths (MAYBE)
"Doubt" - Stereolab (MAYBE. Somewhat mellow. But there are laser noises... ?)
"Reptilia" OR "Soma" - The Strokes
"I Can't Win" - The Strokes
"Where Have All the Rude Boys Gone?" OR "Ballad of the Sin Eater" - Ted Leo and the Pharmacists
"Pink Motorcycle Helmet" - Thunderbirds Are Now!
"The Wrong Way" OR "Staring at the Sun" (Young Liars EP version) - TV on the Radio
"Tuff Ghost" - the Unicorns (this starts out slow, but progresses into something very tasty)
"Jellybones" OR "The Clap" - the Unicorns
"The Rat" - the Walkmen (I really like listening to this song, but again I question its danceability!)

There you have it.

...

God I have no life.

Oh, and when you are giving suggestions, please don't waste my time with things like "Love Shack" or "Cotton Eye Joe" or "That Weird Group Instructional Dance Song People Go Ape For That Involves Some Guy Saying Things Like 'Now Cha Cha!' And Telling You Where To Move" or "Anything By Ludacris."

This is an obscure dance mix, ya dig?

Thank you.




<< >>










SELECT:


newer!!1
older!!1
e - mail!!1
profile!!1
layout!!1
r0x0r!!1
guestbook!!1
notes!!1

fotogravvs!!1
185 Things!!1
omgz lolz!!1
me, naked!!1