College, pt. 3
7:23 p.m. on 10-10-04


So I think I'd rather have a few really strong connections/close friends than a really large bevy of acquaintances.

I kind of have both right now.

But I like the people I'm closer to better and feel that the quality time we spend with each other is utilized much more efficiently than with those I only have "hey howveya been?!" conversations with.

But at the same time there is an definitely an abundance of awesome people here who I'm in varying stages of knowing, and I just want us to all be one big happy group of friends that have impromptu gasoline fights and have dormwide hide and seek tournaments (why does no one do this already?!).

And I think it's really bad that sometimes I'll see some people walking down the street or in my classes and automatically think "wow, I have nothing in common with you and have no desire to talk to you ever."

(These are usually people wearing small, black ruffled skirts, Ugg boots, t-shirts saying "DRIVE THRU BLOW JOB DOUBLE ENTENDRE" or upside-down visors or something.)

But seriously, I don't talk to anyone in my psychology class other than the professor on occasion because of this.

You would think there would be bright, interesting people in this class.

But NO.

Sometimes I think it should be re-named Idiot Commentary 101.

And maybe it's stupid and I'm discriminating or not giving people a chance or something. But I really don't care. I'm quite satisfied with the other friends I have here.

I am also realizing my extreme distaste for the political world.

I'm trying to watch the debates, but nothing seems honest and it makes me really angry that this is what democracy has come to.

If either Bush or Kerry wins I will make the most of my life and adjust to any subsequent minor changes that occur in it.

I'm trying to be one of those active, interested youngpersons who give a shit about the old men in power.

I really think that right now anyone's views on politics are greatly influenced by surroundings -- if there were people here that were really involved, I would tag along and pretend I care, maybe even find a few genuine sentiments in me.

It's totally non-hip to be apathetic, I know.

But I just am.

And I don't think I'm going to fight it anymore.

Though it's frustrating because it's easy to connect apathy with narcissism.

"I don't care about the world because all I care about is myself!"

Ya know?

I guess that makes me a real weenie.

What can I say? It just comes naturally.

I sort of feel like I'm coming out of the politically unaffected closet in saying that. I don't know, I go back and forth. It's an interesting soap opera to follow.

But anyway, I got perhaps the greatest compliment of my life yesterday when my friend Greg told me I reminded him of a female Matt Stone.

Then he followed me around and played me theme music on his acoustic geetar (i.e. tripping on the stairs music, knocking on doors music, kicking him out of my room music).

...six hours later...

Okay, I just saw Q and not U for the first time ever and it was frigging amazing. It was also the first time I was ever really impressed with an opening band and wondered if the main act would be as good as they were. El Guapo = scary screamy guys who produce sassy beats!

One of the kids I went with migrated up to the front row, but honestly I prefer the front/middle area for optimum dancing space and obstructed-but-okay stage view.

Unfortunately, that was where the cool kids were standing tonight.

So here is my impression of a kid who won't dance at a Q and not U show:

"LOOK AT ME! I'M TOO COOL TO DANCE AT A Q AND NOT U SHOW! I AM HAVING THE BEST TIME OF MY LIFE STANDING STILL! IT'S ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE HOW MUCH JOY I GET FROM NOT MOVING! LOOK, I'VE ALSO DRANK FOUR BEERS BECAUSE REMEMBERING SHOWS IS FOR IDIOTS! EEEEEH!"

Or basically, like this:

You guys are such weiners.

I did teach this big group of guys my finger dance, though. They were like Star Wars geeks who like Q and not U instead of/in addition to Star Wars. After the show they huddled up in a group and yelled "WE WON!" and it was awesome. We exchanged high fives but sadly not body fluids.

Fan. Tas. Tic. Night. Totally. I'm still a little floaty from it.

And by floaty I mean sweaty.




<< >>










SELECT:


newer!!1
older!!1
e - mail!!1
profile!!1
layout!!1
r0x0r!!1
guestbook!!1
notes!!1

fotogravvs!!1
185 Things!!1
omgz lolz!!1
me, naked!!1