I am robot. Still, I'm crying.
11:54 p.m. on 02-17-04


DISCLAIMER: This probably won't be funny or interesting to you, but it's my diary so haha.

(For a more entertaining reading experience, just pretend that I ended or began every paragraph by saying "Honkey")

So while Lindsay has found that everyone who has stayed in Carroll County is bitter and suicidal with the exceptions of myself and Kirsten, I have found that everyone at UArts is the same way.

How do I know this?

Because I am a dork who still reads their sad away messages. Laughlaughlaughcry.

Also, while I was there, no one ever actually seemed to enjoy what they were studying. It was always like, "I have a project... TOTALLY LAME!" or "goddamnit singing freaking sucks" or "shit, shit! Monologues!" (not that I'm not guilty of this, to a degree).

Correct me if I'm wrong here, but -- wasn't this a "special school" where kids like us who love the arts could, you know, ENJOY what we do and (I'm about to sound like a total douche here) perfect our chosen craft?

I've always thought I was lucky because I've always known exactly what I wanted to do with my life. I was looking forward to going to school at a place with an open, friendly social scene and a challenging, rigorous classroom dynamic.

Within my first few days there one of the upperclassmen asked me what my major was and I said acting, and he said something like, "oh, acting? You've got it made. I never see an acting student like, actually doing work. You guys just sit around and goof off! You'll have a sweet time!"

Oh, so that's why my parents are paying tremendous amounts of money for me to go here. That's why I want to be a part of a concentrated learning atmosphere. Not to learn valuable information about THE CAREER WHICH I WILL BE PURSUING FOR THE REST OF MY LIVELONG DAYS -- NONONONO, I JUST WANT TO SLACK OFF! GODDAMNIT, WHITEY!

Believe me, I have a tremendous capacity for learning and doing my work. But only when I feel motivated to do it. I think that's pretty true of everyone, actually.

The classes were just blah. Sure, I enjoyed some things and I learned a great deal more than if I had just stuck around here fixin' cars or doin' guys (both of which are arts that I am thouroughly skilled).

But it wasn't enough.

And yeah, I'm in Eldersburg now. And yeah, things could be better, I guess.

But you know what? I am enjoying living life a whole lot more now. Surprisingly enough, I've learned more about technique and body awareness in the three weeks of classes I've been taking here than in the four months I spent at UArts.

I want to write papers, because they're about things I want to write about.

I want to do my homework, because I feel like it's actually helping me.

People here are friendly and funny and likeable. Dare I say I have... friends?! My teachers aren't whackjobs. I made second and third callbacks for Noises Off, and Edward frigging Norton is coming to see it. (!).

Speaking of Eddiebaby...

So I made something neat in honor of Valentine's Day and me being bored and alone and in front of a computer for over ten minutes.

So for all the ladies, that will make up for the semi-boring content of the above entry.

For all the dudes, I'll let you cop a feel later.




<< >>










SELECT:


newer!!1
older!!1
e - mail!!1
profile!!1
layout!!1
r0x0r!!1
guestbook!!1
notes!!1

fotogravvs!!1
185 Things!!1
omgz lolz!!1
me, naked!!1