Ground control to Major Tom; commencing countdown time to put your helmet oooon...
9:22 p.m. on 02-16-02


I just got home from an...umm...9 hour car ride, I guess. From North Carolina. I'm officially in love with this college. It's the North Carolina School of the Arts.

It's just...gah. A sensory overload. I want to be an actress, and it really specializes in acting. I mean...one of the required classes is Stage Combat. How cool is that?!?! And everyone there was just...so friendly and creative, and offbeat in an uninvasive kind of way.

We saw a play about the Vietnam War, "Streamers," there. Although it was really dark and heavy, the acting was remarkable. I mean...these college kids were better than some adults in Broadway shows I've seen. Kids who were just a few years older than me. Yeep.

The only questionable thing is, if you're a drama or dance major you're required to go to the gym 3 days a week because of all the physical emphasis and activity that goes along with those majors. Well...I guess that isn't so questionable, because I need a reason to get off my lazy ass. And instead of gaining a "Freshman 15," I'd lose it. And that would be nice. Because I've always wanted to have rock solid bumcakes.

If you're a drama major (which I'd be), your senior year they take you to New York City and your class showcases its work for all these agents and at least half the kids get some sort of agent or job offer. It's just...wonderful.

Oh. Heh-heh-heh. Also...

Now this is not a deciding factor in my college selection process at all, but...but...DAMN!!! The boys there are just...YOWZA!!! (I have to say "yowza" because words like "hot" or "sexy" don't do justice to the attractiveness that was present). I've never seen anyone that good looking up close. Egads.

That's just a nice bonus, though. I mean...totally...no impact whatsoever. I'm serious.

Oooooh! Brief gloating moment: I got an offer to be in a movie. Just an extra, mind you, but still...in a movie. This screenwriter from *ahem ahem* Los Angeles was waiting tables near us at the Macaroni grill...and our waiter came over and said that he needed extras for this independant movie he was doing. But we were only in town for 2 days. So poop.

The whole feeling there...it just felt right. Like I was coming home or something. I felt like I fit in somewhere, for a change. The classes I sat in on...the kids would be laughing and joking with one another for one minute, but then would just get so intense when it was time to do their work. Then they'd go back to joking around. It was like they were all friends with that one thing in common, that need...or drive to act; but still taking time out to fully enjoy what was going on.

I didn't want to come home. I wanted to go to school. How weird is that?? That's...well...that's pretty weird. But now I at least have something to work towards, some kind of motivation. And I know that it won't matter if I get a B or C in geometry, or what my SAT score is. I wouldn't want to go anywhere where that would matter.

Scores shouldn't matter anywhere...it's just another way of seperating people. It's almost discrimination, when you think about it. People do look at me a different way once they find out I got a 960 on the PSAT's. And I think that's really shitty.

Plus, why should I have to prove to someone who I don't even know what I've learned or not learned? Shouldn't it just matter that I've learned it?? There is no internal motivation in our public school system. We don't learn because we want to learn, we memorize information because we have to in order to get higher on the educational food chain. We are constantly rated on our achievements. We shouldn't be rated on anything. Rating never solved anything, it never made anyone a better person. I'm essentially quoting directly from the mouth of one Kristen Williamson...but damn. That girl has a point!!

And I'm rambling...and rambling...and...it's time for that to stop. You get my gist though, no?

Anyway.

They have a killer Goodwill out there, too. And a lot of "Gentleman's Clubs" and Waffle Houses. And restaurants called "Bojangles" and "Hardees" -- it's very surreal.

There are no "Hardees" in the north. I think the south just needed something to replace slavery after the Civil War, so they started a fast food chain. Think of all the trouble that could've been avoided had they just thought of that in the first place. =megan=

Music: "Space Oddity" - David Bowie




<< >>










SELECT:


newer!!1
older!!1
e - mail!!1
profile!!1
layout!!1
r0x0r!!1
guestbook!!1
notes!!1

fotogravvs!!1
185 Things!!1
omgz lolz!!1
me, naked!!1