I'm me. Me be. Goddamn. I am. I can't. Sing it. Hear me. Know me.
10:26 p.m. on 10-01-01


As I sit here at 10:26PM, listening to the worlds most ass-kicking guitar solo in "Undone," and postponing my French 3 project further and further away from completion -- I forgot what I was getting at. Um, anyway.

I saw Weezer on Friday. I'd have to say that was the best day of my life to date. They were so unbelivably amazing.. just.. 10,000 times better than I expected, and I expected a lot. For the whole experience, I'd suggest going here: http://greenpixie.diaryland.com. Betsy has taken the liberty of giving an hour-by-hour recap of the madness.

During "The Start's" opening set, the lead singer said "Come on everyone!! Let's DANCE!! La la la la!" which was OK by me.. but then the crowd proceeded to do this weird kind of push-rush-mosh-kill-all-people-under-6-feet-high thing, which resulted in Betsy, Lindsay, and me getting trampled. Well, Betsy got it the worst. They knocked me down on my ass, but Bets was actually FACING the ceiling. And her knee got stepped on. Yeesh. So, we got off the floor, unfortunately, and saw the Weez from the seats.

Next time, though, I am getting there EARLY EARLY, not just early. Because I need to stand you know.. RIGHT up there, first row, front and center. Like when you swim out in the ocean, you have to get past the really big waves in order to get to the calm part. I'm not saying that's the calm part, there is no calm part of a Weezer concert (except for maybe where our seats ended up, the kids next to us were SITTING DOWN.. crazies..), but, just.. less violent.

What is really pathetic is that my DAD had better seats than us, and wouldn't give them away because 1. there were only 3 seats, and 5 of us; and 2. he's a weeziephile as well, and wouldn't pass them up. Bastard. Heh.

Needless to say, in row H (not bad, decent view of the band), I was the only kid who was really you know.. INTO it. My vocal chords still ache from the beating they took that Friday night. Not to mention my neck and upper arms, from all that.. dancing? head banging? flailing? rocking out? There's got to be a verb for that. Just can't think of it.

This does have its upshots, though. Katie, Lindsay and me all screamed "BRIAAAAAAN!!!" (as in Brian Bell, rhythm guitar) really loudly because he was the Weezer closest to us, and he looked up.. and I waved.. and oh oh -- best part -- he SMILED. Oh lanky guitar man, how I love thee. You smiled. I nearly convulsed.

I'm not just saying that because he's what kids these days would call a "hottie," he's 1/4 of the world's greatest rock band. And I made contact with him. Well, kind of. I'd like to think I did. But I'd like to think a lot of things. So, anyway.

My ears are still ringing from that joyous crunch of the guitars, the crack of Rivers Cuomo's voice, the cheer of the crowd. Will they ever be the same? I hope not. =meg=




<< >>










SELECT:


newer!!1
older!!1
e - mail!!1
profile!!1
layout!!1
r0x0r!!1
guestbook!!1
notes!!1

fotogravvs!!1
185 Things!!1
omgz lolz!!1
me, naked!!1